Slices of Life #6

Good morning! It’s the start of a new week which calls for another Slice of Life, so let’s get on with the linking and listing, shall we?

Slices of Life

 

The Life

Slices of Life The Life

I finished my second week at my real job and finally finished all the training at my part time job. I’m definitely loving that my schedule will be a little more balanced this week almost as much as I’m loving the fact that I got my first “big girl” paycheck! I may have spent most of it on student loans but still... I got one!! I’m also finally starting to step out a bit and hopefully meet some new people. I went to an (awesome!) free meditation at a local yoga studio yesterday and I found a trivia team on MeetUp to join up with later in the week. Branching out on my own has never really been my thing and neither has having lots of plans with large groups of people… but I figure I should find something to do besides work!

great post I’d love to forward to some of my classmates who are already complaining about the interest rates on our student loans now that we have to pay the money back.

Why you shouldn’t take Facebook posts seriously  or maybe even think about leaving it for good.

Signs that you’re working at a job you love , my current jobs check quite a few of these even if the training schedule was a little crazy.

The Eats

Slices of Life The Eats

I’m still loving on my CSA. Share #2 included greens, zucchini, broccoli, garlic scapes, and a ton of basil. That didn’t stop me from swinging by the farmers market on my way to work one day and picking up a few green peppers and a bunch of tomatoes… at least I remembered the honey I went there for in the first place? BF and I also decided to sign up for a membership at Sam’s Club. I may not need it now while I’m swimming in produce but I can definitely see myself loving it once farm season is through. The recipes and foodie reads this week include:

The start to what looks like an exciting series of posts on eating clean. The BF may find it annoying everytime I point out the some of his “healthier” choices are low fat/low sugar/ low calorie due to additives that are best left out. Maybe if I throw the science at him from someone else it’ll stick 😉

Asiago Cheddar Zucchini Gratin (coincidence that I got zucchini in my CSA this week? I think not!)

A Farmers Omelette that the BF asked for ASAP

The perfect Mojito recipe which BF and I sampled on Saturday (good thing my mint plant is growing like … well like mint!) 

The Exercise

Slices of Life The Exercise

I’ve been taking it easy on my hip this week to make sure that when I start running again I’m able to do so without further incident. There’s been lots of hip strengthening exercises and general full  body workouts and a lot of yoga. There’s just enough room for my mat on the deck at our new place and I’ve been loving heading outside on weekend mornings (so I don’t wake the BF 🙂 ) All these gentle strengthening and stretching based exercises haven’t done much in terms of getting my sweat on, but they definitely make my body feel great.

Heart Opening Yoga, Dancing Warrior sequence, and Plank-a-thon have been by Youtube workouts of choice.

The whole workout looks a little much right now, but I love the stretches and the plyometric set!

What’s the best thing you read/ate/did this week? 

12 thoughts on “Slices of Life #6

  1. Arman @ thebigmansworld

    YAY! Big girl check and big girl check to loans! I cringe at the big boy checks doing the same here too. Big props for branching out of your comfort zone- I tried meetup when I first moved to Sydney but got spammed lol!

    Reply
    1. sarahpie13 Post author

      I did the plyo part and it was great! Just taking it easy on the running for now until my hip starts feeling better. Thanks for a great at home workout 🙂

      Reply
  2. Jacki (@JackiRHayes)

    Thanks for including a link to my upcoming Clean Eating series. I hope it helps! If there is anything specific you would like me to cover, just let me know. Be sure to check out my FB page for additional content, as well.

    Reply
    1. sarahpie13 Post author

      Oh I’ll have to check it out thanks! I’m just excited to have some articles to pass along, I just found your blog but I love your writing style 🙂

      Reply
  3. strictlydelicious

    Thanks for the feature, Sarah! I really enjoyed your thoughts on “big girl jobs.” I feel the same way every time I get my “grown up paycheck.” It makes me feel so independent and legit, at least until the next day when 85% of it is gone to bills…. And then I spend the rest at the farmer’s market like you! Ahh the adult life… 🙂

    Reply
  4. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets

    I bet once BF starts eating all that delicious CSA produce, he’ll notice a difference in his health, especially when the CSA ends and you slide back to usual eating. I’m happy to see you making the most of it, and also headed to the farmers market as well. Hooray veggies.

    Tip: shredded zucchini freezes wonderfully. You don’t even have to drain it first because it loses all the water content when it defrosts without all the extra work. Then in the wintertime you can defrost it for bread, pancakes, some of Arman’s recipes. It’s a way to get that summertime produce in the middle of winter.

    That being said, I need to make the Asiago Cheddar Zucchinin au gratin, stat!!

    Reply
    1. sarahpie13 Post author

      That is great to know thanks! I may have to shred one of my guys up, so far they’ve just been staring at me in the fridge while I ate all the basil I was swimming in.

      Reply

So what do you think?

