Black Bean Burgers

I may be way behind on this food trend, but Veggie Burgers are amazing! We made chickpea based ones a few times at my house, and I was totally excited to try out this triple bean version from Peas and Crayons since pretty much everything I make from Jenn is amazing.

Black Bean Burgers- Slices of Sarah Pie

That being said when I sat down to make some for myself last week I didn’t have like half the ingredients… story of my life. The result was a burger very loosely based on Jenn’s which taught me that veggie burger recipes are surprisingly adaptable.  And for someone who is really bad at fooling a recipe that’s a very good thing.

Black Bean Burgers 3

These are surprisingly burger like in texture and stayed surprisingly juicy once cooked up. I wasn’t able to convince BF to try one, though he admitted they smelled delicious, but the puppy was all over me trying to get a bite 🙂

Black Bean Burgers- Slices of Sarah Pie

Black Bean Burgers- adapted from Peas and Crayons 

Makes: 8-10 burgers depending on size

Time: 30 minutes (plus 30+ minutes of chill time)

30 oz (2 cans) black beans, rinsed and drained
1 red bell pepper, chopped
1 onion, chopped
2 flax eggs (1 TBSP flax + 3 TBSP water)
2 1/2 cups of rolled oats (GF if needed)
3 TBSP olive oil, plus more for cooking
salt, pepper, and chili flakes to taste

Combine flax meal and water in a small bowl and allow to sit for 5 minutes. In a blender/food processor combine black beans, chopped pepper and onion, and oats. Pulse 3-4 times just to break everything down together. Pour mixture into a large bowl and add in flax eggs and 3 TBSP of olive oil. Use your hands (this part gets messy) to combine wet and dry ingredients and then form into patties. You want to pack the patties together pretty tight to make sure they hold together during cooking.

Allow the patties to rest in the fridge for 20-30 minutes before cooking so they firm up. To cook heat a small amount of oil in a skillet and fry  burgers for 3-5 minutes on each side until lightly browned. Cooked burgers keep in the fridge for about a week and work best if reheated in a skillet. You can freeze the uncooked patties to cook at a later time, just give them a chance to thaw out first.

 

Linking up with Gluten Free Friday at Vegetarian Mamma and Fiesta Friday at The Novice Gardener . Be sure to stop by the parties to check out other fresh and healthy eats!

29 thoughts on “Black Bean Burgers

  1. The Novice Gardener

    Sarah, you didn’t link a photo? If you go to the end of my Fiesta Friday post, you’ll see a “click to join” button and when you click it, you’ll be able to add a photo link. That way the other participants can find you. Let me know if you need help. Thanks for bringing such a tasty and healthy dish to the fiesta! XOXO

    Reply
    1. sarahpie13 Post author

      Thanks so much for checking! My internet was a little spotty while I was moving this weekend so I’m a little late to the party, but thank you as always for hosting 🙂

      Reply
  2. Kristin

    Yummy, I absolutely LOVE veggie burgers!! I’m a vegetarian so I can never get enough of them!!! Hehe!! I absolutely love this recipe!!! THANKS!!! XOXO!!!!

    Reply
  3. Katherine

    Congrats on your own domain! These look fabulous. Black beans are so versatile. The fact that they can go in desserts or dinners is so cool to me!

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #20 | The Novice Gardener

    1. sarahpie13 Post author

      Seriously?! I thought those were one of those things that you could get like anywhere in the world? Maybe I’ll just have to send you some as a belated birthday gift 😉

      Reply
  5. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets

    That’s a smart puppy. I’m pretty much in love with Jenn’s veggie burgers although I haven’t tried her black bean ones yet. I need to get on that especially with so much summertime food loving happening. Ok, I really need to get my grill fixed. Crap.

    Reply
    1. sarahpie13 Post author

      Can’t you make hubby fix it? You have recipes to type up, like that quiche you teased 🙂 I’m definitely glad I went with Jenn as the base for my first veggie burger experiment because I’m seeing lots of them in my future!

      Reply
  6. Michelle

    these look yummy, I love veggie burgers – espeically black bean burgers. Normally if i’m making a bean burger recipe, i always replace the beans with black beans!

    Reply
  7. Pingback: Slices of Life #4 | Slices of Sarah Pie

  8. Pingback: WIAW: The Budget Bites Edition | Slices of Sarah Pie

So what do you think?

