Mediterranean Grilled Pizza

I have a thing for hummus. A big thing. We’re talking I can’t buy a package at the store and not eat it all in a day kind of thing. What can I say whether it’s on veggies, chips, spoons, or fingers I just can’t stop. You know what else hummus is good on? Pizza. 

Mediterranean Grilled Pizza- A quick and easy gluten free pizza on the grill

 

What could be better than a chewy, gluten free, flatbread crust cooked fresh on the grill. Said crust slathered in hummus and covered with veggies sounds like a good option to me. This has all the flavors of a greek salad, piled high on a bed of garlicky hummus, and quickly grilled for summertime perfection.

Gluten Free Mediterranean Pizza- a quick and easy gluten free grilled pizza with all the flavors of summer

 

To make a pizza crust I typically use King Arthur or Namaste pizza crust mixes, according to package directions. I like to make enough for 4 thin, 6-inch crusts, pre-bake them for half the recommended time, and then freeze the ones I’m not using for a quick dinner at a late time (I’ve kept them in a freezer bag for up to a month). They can go straight from the freezer to the oven of the grill.

 

Mediterranean Grilled Pizza

 

Mediterranean Grilled Pizza 

Makes 2, 6-inch pizzas

Time: 15 minutes

Recipe labels

Ingredients 

2 Gluten Free Pizza crusts (a pita or a naan flatbread would work well too)

1/2 cup hummus (I’ve been loving this one from Annie’s Eats lately)

1 small tomato, diced

1/2 cucumber, diced

1/4 red onion thinly sliced or diced

4-6 kalamata olives, sliced

2 oz Feta Cheese, crumbled

Preheat your grill to medium heat, and make sure your racks are clean! Place crusts on grill for two minutes on one side. Remove from heat and spread hummus evenly over the grilled side of each crust. Return to grill for another two minutes to cook other side. When crust is brown and crispy around the edges remove from heat and top evenly with veggies and crumbled cheese. Serve immediately.

The nice thing about pizza is it is so easy to customize. I don’t like olives or onions, so I didn’t put any on mine (even if they’re traditional in Greek salad). Feel free to throw on whatever veggies/cheese you like, it’s really all about the grilled crust and the melty hummus anyways 😉

Do you like grilled pizza? What’s your favorite summer pizza topping?

Linking up with Gluten Free Friday at Vegetarian Mamma and Fiesta Friday at The Novice Gardener  because who doesn’t love pizza to get the weekend started?!

19 thoughts on “Mediterranean Grilled Pizza

  1. The Novice Gardener

    Welcome to Fiesta Friday and thank you for linking. When this week’s Fiesta Friday starts tomorrow, you can also link your photo. There will be a button for you to click to do that. Let me know if you had any question. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Jhuls

    Welcome to FF! 🙂 This pizza sounds delicious! Thank you for bringing this! I hope you get yo mingle with other guests – they are all amazing and friendly!

    Reply
  3. Sinfully Tempting

    Yum! I love all things Mediterranean, and this recipe is no exception. Stunning photos and such a lovely blog. Thanks for bringing this to the party! 🙂

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #19 | The Novice Gardener

  5. Butter, Basil and Breadcrumbs

    Sarah pie!!! Welcome welcome welcome to Fiesta Friday!! Its so nice to meet you!! I love hummus.. I’ve never made it, but really need to try! There is a reyd pepper hummus at my grocery store that I’m gaga over….
    This pizza is amazing… has all the elements that scream pure Greek deliciousness… and oh so perfect for Fiesta Friday’s table! Thanks so much for sharing your recipe!! Have a lovely weekend… ❤

    Reply
    1. sarahpie13 Post author

      Thanks so much for stopping by! Red pepper hummus is one of the worlds best creations though I’ve never gotten that fancy in my own creations 🙂

      Reply
  6. Kaila511

    Hi Sarah, It’s so exciting to have another celiac at the fiesta! I actually brought mini italian pizza bites a couple of weeks ago. I love the idea of putting humus on a pizza. I can’t have the feta cheese due to a milk allergy, but it sounds delicious without it as well! Happy fiesta-ing, and have a wonderful weekend! 🙂

    Reply
    1. sarahpie13 Post author

      Ahh I love running into other celiacs online! Sorry to hear about the milk allergy but you’re right that these are just as good without the cheese 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply
  7. saucygander

    Hi Sarah, slathering pizza in hummus sounds divine, I can’t believe I’ve never tried it, since we always have hummus around the house! This pizza looks like a fabulous dinner idea! 😀

    Reply
    1. sarahpie13 Post author

      Try it out you’ll thank me later 😉 It just makes for a fun change up from the usual. Sorry to hear about the grill, things always pick the best time to go, right?!

      Reply

So what do you think?

