Running for Non-Runners: June Training Calendar

Good morning everyone. Today is National Running Day so it seemed a fitting day to share my planned training schedule for my first official month of training. Training is such an odd word, but I like it, makes this whole thing feel very official. I have exactly 4 months from today to go from my current 3 ten-minute miles to my goal of 13.1 eight and a half-minute miles. Remind me again why I’m doing this?

Running For Non Runners Slices of Sarh Pie

I’m running to reach a goal. I have this wonderful habit of coming up with fabulous ideas and grand plans and then not following through. Well races are kind of expensive, and I know I won’t want the money I paid towards the entry fee to go to waste. Thats my way of guaranteeing I’ll follow through with the goal. I know that I have a long way to go before I get there. I’m pushing myself to do this because I know it’s good to try new things and I know doing it with the BF will help to keep me motivated.

National Running Day 2014

 

Today specifically I’m also running for a cause. National Running Day is promoting Charity Miles to allow all participants a chance to do some good while working towards their personal goals. My money today is heading to Autism Speaks because why not support my favorite kiddos πŸ™‚

With 4 months to go I have plenty of time to increase my miles slowly which is what I’m focused on. I went through so many training calendars but couldn’t find one in particular that I liked. But they did give me a great template to create my own.

Half Marathon Training Month OneHere’s to five miles by the end of the month!

Anyone else really bad at sticking to ideas they plan on? Who else is taking a run today?

This post is linked to Olive to Run’s National Running Day celebration.

 

9 thoughts on “Running for Non-Runners: June Training Calendar

  1. Hanna

    Hi! I found your blog on the olivetorun link up πŸ™‚ I love the title of your blog!

    Congrats and best of luck training for your first half marathon – I’m also a beginner and I just completed my own first 13.1 last month! It is such an awesome feeling and I worked so hard to achieve my goal. Now I’m hooked! You can do it!! πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. sarahpie13 Post author

      Thanks so much for stopping by! I’m all kinds of excited and terrified but it’s always good to hear from others who have already made it πŸ™‚

      Reply
      1. Hanna

        Remember to make the most of every minute – you only get one 1st half marathon! I look forward to hearing about your training!

  2. longhorns2

    Hi Sarah! Yeah- a plan? Ugh. I suck at those. I plan a lot just don’t follow through like I should! I got 2 glorious miles in today- made me a happy momma! Happy Running Day!

    Reply
  3. A Mother's Pace

    Best of luck to you as your train for your first half marathon! You’ll have a lot of milestones along the way, enjoy them! I also find that I push myself more if I have a race on the calendar.
    I found you through Cori’s link up today! Happy National Running Day!

    Reply
    1. sarahpie13 Post author

      Thanks for stopping by! I’m hoping to make the best of the whole process, though right now I’m still having a lot of those “why am I doing this” days. Thanks for the positive words πŸ™‚

      Reply

So what do you think?

