Running for Non-Runners

I am not a runner. I don’t think that should come as a surprise to anyone around here, but this announcement might. BF and I are going to run a half marathon together this fall. That’s quite a bit farther than the 10k I put as a goal on my list, and a heck of a lot farther than I’ve  ever even thought about running before. But what good are goals if the don’t shake you out of your comfort zone once in a while right?

 

Since I took a few months some time off from running, BF said I had to run at least 6 miles this week before we signed up. Being the competitive spirit that I am I did him one better and did a total of 10, with another 3 planned for tomorrow. If I can split it up over 4 days this half marathon thing is totally doable! 

Since I have no idea what I’m doing I figure this is as good a place as any to share the training process of a total non-runner. Starting with actually setting up some sort of training process/goals…

  1. Get to an 8 min/mile pace. That’s where I was when I did my 5k last fall, and where I would like to be for this race in October. I’m currently at ~10 min/mile so I’ve got my work ahead of me.
  2. Build up my run length. Right now 3 miles is a good run for me, my goal is 4 by the end of the month but clearly I need to up my distance.
  3. Build endurance. Currently I can last about 2 miles before I need to slow down to a walk, my goal is 3 without walking by the end of this month, and building from there.
  4. Cross train with weights and yoga on non-running days. I’ve worked hard for a lot of my yoga flexibility and the last thing I want to do is lose it by getting focused on one thing. Plus I think cross training is supposed to help prevent injury? (clearly I’ve got a lot of research to do)

Sooo any distance runners out there who have some advice for a newbie? Anyone else think I might be slightly crazy? 

8 thoughts on “Running for Non-Runners

  1. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets

    I’ve got no advice for you, but I wish you nothing but success. I would also recommend you sign up for a half marathon in Cleveland, and I’ll think about running it with you. 🙂 We’ll spend the summer training together, from afar.

    Reply
  2. barefootmedstudent

    Yeaaah, I’m not a runner either and I also started running last year. Hoping to do a half marathon sometime next year, but it’s winter here (South Africa) so I’m kind of lazy right now. I don’t really advice I just wanted to pop by because I’m also doing a 25-before-25! So hiiii!

    Reply
    1. sarahpie13 Post author

      Hi thanks for stopping by, I’ll be off to check you out in a minute 🙂 I’m with you on being lazy in the winter, that’s the reason I’ve got so much catching up to do right now!

      Reply
  3. JanaBananaRD

    Don’t worry so much about pace right now as you are getting back into it. Focus on getting more miles and more time spent running. Work on speed 1 day per week and endurance/length of the run the rest of the days. Also your long run should always be super super slow paced, like slow enough to carry on a conversation. Hope that helps! Good luck!

    P.s. which half are you running?

    Reply

So what do you think?

