Why I read

I’ve made no secret of my love for books around here, I mean it’s almost as big as my love for tea, or the BF 😉 One of the things I was looking forward to most with my vacation was getting a chance to tackle my reading list  from this years goals. Unfortunately when I walk into the library my its like my eyes are bigger than my mind. It’s not uncommon for me to walk out with 25+ books and have none of them be the one I went in there to borrow.

why I read

 

That’s my nightstand right now. None of those books are on my “to read” list but I was excited to open and learn from each and every one of them.  I tell some people that I’m spending my vacation reading and they want to know why.  Some of you are readers too, you get it. The novel so good you can’t put it down because you don’t want to wait for the ending. The how-to full of tips that you can’t wait to apply to your life. The memoir of someone who has lived in a place and time that you wish you could be a part of.

Why I read: in defense of bookworms everywhere

 

People ask why I read and I want to respond by asking them why they don’t. I read because I can. Because there is a certain magic in having any information you want, available at your fingertips, at any given moment. I never understood people who didn’t like to read, as a kid I used to think it was because they hadn’t found the right book yet, because how could anyone not want that feeling of being so fully consumed by something. It really is like falling in love, except you get the chance to do it again and again and again each time you turn the page.

Have you read any good books lately?

Linking up with Running with Spoons because this is totally me Thinking out Loud.

6 thoughts on “Why I read

  1. Amanda @ .running with spoons.

    The bookworm in me absolutely loves this post. Books and reading may just be my favourite things in the world, and I can’t even remember the last day that went by without me spending at least a few hours reading. I just finished up the Throne of Glass series, which I can’t recommend enough if you like fantasy/adventure type novels 🙂

    Reply
  2. Arman @ thebigmansworld

    I love a good book and I honestly miss the carefree childhood days where I would love to do nothing more than hit the library, check out a pile of books and go through them in a matter of days…often with a block of chocolate in tow. I really want to read the fault is in our stars after seeing the movie trailer!

    Reply
    1. sarahpie13 Post author

      That has been on my to-read list FOREVER! Our library had like a 6 month waiting list on it though. I think reading with chocolate should be mandatory.

      Reply
  3. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets

    I think people who don’t like to read just haven’t found the right book yet too.

    Reading is magical. Now on that note, I’m off to read…your next blog post, but I do intend to go to bed early tonight specifically so I can curl up with GOT.

    Reply

So what do you think?

