Fluffy Gluten Free Waffles

You’d think with this sudden influx of spare time post-graduation I’d be a better blogger…. it’s been one of those weeks where stacks of books have been calling my name and piles of life are begging to be organized. It’s also been one of those weeks where I’ve been largely unplugged. Minimal Instagram, Netflix, and yes blogging has been a nice change of pace though I’m starting to miss you guys.

At least I came back with a treat? 

Slices of Sarah Pie-Gluten Free Waffles

These waffles have been a long time coming here (seriously I think it’s been about a month) but I promise they’re worth the wait. They are light and crispy, taste delicious on their own or covered in strawberries and butter and syrup. They also freeze beautifully which was great when I was stretched for time in the mornings before my medical placement, seriously just pull one from the freezer and pop it in the toaster, they’re as easy as Ego’s.

Fluffy Gluten Free Waffles

Makes: 10-12 medium waffles

Time: 20 minutes

Ingredients

2 cups All Purpose Gluten Free Baking Flour (I’m loving Namaste brand right now)

2 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

pinch of salt

1 tablespoon brown sugar or honey

1 tablespoon coconut oil (or olive oil or whatever you have in your pantry)

3/4 cup almond milk

1/4-1/2 cup water

2 eggs, beaten

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Turn your waffle iron on to preheat. In a large mixing bowl combine flour, baking soda, baking powder, sugar, salt, and vanilla extract. Add in oil and egg and stir to combine. Add in milk of your choice. *At this point you may need to add 1/4+ of water depending on your flour blend and the milk you choose, the batter will be thick enough to drop by spoonfuls into the waffle iron*

Add 1/4 cup of batter to your waffle iron and cook until your desired level of doneness- mine takes about 4 minutes- serve warm with desired toppings. If you want to freeze, allow to cool fully before placing in a freezer bag. You can then reheat in the toaster as desired.

Slices of Sarah Pie- Gluten Free Waffles

 

 

What’s your favorite waffle topping? 

6 thoughts on “Fluffy Gluten Free Waffles

  1. Katherine

    Ooh these look SO good! You make such pretty waffles! I always end up messing waffles up somehow, but yours are beautiful. (Oh goodness, I’m calling food beautiful again, here I go.)

    Reply
  2. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets

    I don’t own a waffle iron which I’m really starting to regret since the whole blog world has gone waffle crazy. If I did have one though, I’d top these lovely ladies with butter and maple syrup because waffles are all about collecting juice toppings in their little squares. Yum.

    Reply
    1. sarahpie13 Post author

      That’s for sure, and butter and syrup is always the best way to go! I just got my waffle maker about a month back after I won a giftcard to Amazon, it’s not the fanciest thing by any means but it sure gets the job done.

      Reply

So what do you think?

