How to soothe sore feet

I love having an active job. I love knowing that even if I don’t get in a workout I at least spent the day walking around with patients/students. I love that it’s totally acceptable to wear gym shoes at my medical facility. I don’t love how much my feet hurt at the end of the day, unless the BF is around to give me a foot rub ๐Ÿ˜‰

Plantar fasciitis runs in my family. My mom, her mom, and several of her sisters have it so I know it’s probably only a matter of time before my feet join the club. Considering how sore my feet get after a day of walking around or a short run around the neighborhood they’re probably on their way.

sore_feet1

 

That being said I try to be proactive by caring for my feet on a daily basis. The most important part of the care comes in the form of a hard rubber ball I bought at the Dollar Store.ย That’s right a $1 ball makes a world of difference in my ability to spend a day on my feet without pain. It’s a hard rubber bouncy ball, a little smaller than a tennis ball, and it’s my favorite part of my daily routine. Like foam rolling in miniature form I use this ball to work over my sore muscles a few minutes each day.

I use it to roll out the arch in each foot while standing for a few minutes each morning. I also use it while sitting to roll along the tops and bottoms of my feet along with my ankles at the end of ย the day.

While my foot problems have never been serious enough to speak with a healthcare professional they can be a bit of a pain, especially at the end of a 12+ hour day. For any of you who also have problems with sore feet I urge you to go get a bouncy ball of your own, it will be the best $1 you ever spend ๐Ÿ˜‰

Do you have sore feet at the end of the day? What’s your favorite trick to ease the pain?ย 

 

Linking up with Amanda and Emily‘s Did you Know- nutrition and fitness link up.

4 thoughts on “How to soothe sore feet

      1. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets

        It’s a pity, but true.

        My feet sometime hurt after a particularly long day in the kitchen because I rarely wear sneakers indoors, and then suddenly I realize I’ve been on my feet for 6 hours cooking, and they hurt. Might be time for me to invest in a rolly ball of my own. Ha, I said ball.

      2. sarahpie13 Post author

        Haha I was about 2 seconds away from highlighting the word ball every time it appeared in this post… I’m regretting my decision to not

So what do you think?

