Strawberry Spinach Smoothie

One of the (many) things I’m not loving about my medical placement is how much it has killed my appetite. My supervisor is fantastic and I’m enjoying working with some of the patients (even when they call me names). But if feeding people who are no longer able to do so themselves wasn’t enough to kill my appetite the smell in the place surely is…

I was already used to a “grab and go” lunch schedule from when I worked in the schools, but since starting here I’ve dropped from grab and go to go go go with no time or desire to stop for lunch. Which means a BIG breakfast is key for keeping me on my feet all day.

strawberry_spinach_smothie2

The BF got me a blender with this awesome single serve attachment for our anniversary this year, and now that it’s finally stopped snowing around here I’ve been drinking my breakfast like nobody’s business.

I like a smoothie that packs a punch in terms of flavor, and has enough in it to actually count as a meal (or in my case two). A combination of fruits and greens does just that, with some chia seeds for an added boost.

strawberry_spinach_smoothie

And of course it wouldn’t count as breakfast in my book if I didn’t add some tea in (though no worries there’s a mug on the side as well) 😉

Strawberry Spinach Smoothie

Serves: 1

Time: 2 minutes

Ingredients

1 small, ripe, banana

1 cup spinach leaves

5-6 strawberries (add more if your berries are small)

1 TBSP Chia Seeds (1 TBSP flax seeds OR 1/4 oatmeal would add a good boost too)

1 cup Ginger tea (or 1 TBSP fresh ginger and 1 cup water)

Combine all ingredients in a blender and pulse until smooth. Can be made the night before if stored in an airtight container.

What’s your favorite thing to make in a blender?

What’s something that totally kills your appetite? 

14 thoughts on “Strawberry Spinach Smoothie

  1. Amanda SemiHealthNut (@SemiHealthNut)

    I LOVE my Ninja blender!! Especially with that smoothie attachment!!

    Sorry your appetite is nada. Hope you’re still trying to eat! I have a hard time on my days when I work from home because I sit down to work/eat breakfast and end up not finishing it until hours later…then the headaches come lol. Need to get better about that!

    Thanks for linking! Make sure to use a back-link pretty please. 🙂 ❤

    Reply
    1. sarahpie13 Post author

      Knew I forgot something! I fixed the link-backs 🙂

      Thankfully I’ve been doing well warding off the headaches (knock on wood) but I know what you mean.

      Reply
  2. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets

    My dear this looks delicious. It’s my kind of smoothie (all fruit and greens), but this does not a two meal replacement make. You need to throw in some oats (in addition to the flax, chia) or some yogurt for protein and staying power. When I drink one of these, they’re usually my first breakfast and my second breakfast comes by way of granola.

    Reply
    1. sarahpie13 Post author

      I know, I know it’s not my healthiest option, but believe me when I say the smell alone in my placement is enough to kill my appetite before I even get inside patients mouths…

      3 more weeks and I can go back to the kiddos and eating all the things!

      Reply
  3. Madison @ Eating for Balance

    I think you need to bulk that smoothie up a bit like Meghan said… I have no idea how you can miss lunch though, either way! Haha. Well, I guess I kind of did that yesterday, so nevermind 😉

    Great idea of mixing in a cup of ginger tea with the smoothie. Also, I am incredibly jealous of your Ninja- that looks awesome!!

    Something that either ramps up or kills my appetite is getting in an argument. I either feel like eating nothing or eating everything in sight. Yay for feelings!

    Reply
    1. sarahpie13 Post author

      I use Yogi brand Ginger tea bags usually, you could also put a few teaspoons of ground ginger or a few slices of fresh ginger in hot water and let that steep.

      Reply

So what do you think?

