Crunchy Kale Slaw

Confession time: I grew up thinking I didn’t like coleslaw. I know very un-American of me, but somehow I’ve managed to survive all these years of picnics without it. Truth be told I don’t think I’ve ever tried the traditional, creamy, white, kind because I’m really not the biggest fan of mayonnaise (I know the horror). coleslaw3

This slaw has none of the traditional mayo (or cabbage for that matter) but it does has a fantastic fresh flavor, a wonderful tang, and a boatload of fresh veggies. I even threw in some sunflower seeds for good measure 🙂

Crunchy Kale Slaw

Serves 6

Time 10 minutes

Ingredients

1 12oz package Broccoli Slaw

1 12 oz package Trader Joe’s Cruciferous Crunch (sub ~3 cups shredded kale and ~1 cup shredded purple cabbage)

1/3 cup Dijon mustard

3 TBSP Honey

3 TBSP Olive Oil

1/4 cup sunflower seed kernels

1/3 cup unsweetened dried cranberries

In a large serving bowl combine veggies, mustard, honey, and olive oil. Toss thoroughly to coat (your clean hands work great for mixing everything in there). Gently mix in sunflower seeds and cranberries, saving some to garnish the top.

*Note: If you’re making this for a party (or an occasion where you want it to look pretty) don’t mix in the cranberries until the very end because they tend to bleed their color a bit as they sit. 

coleslaw1

Confession (part two): I had this recipe planned to share this recipe before I knew Davida was collecting green foods this week, but since she’s such a wonderful hostess I figured I should go ahead and join the party anyways!

Do you like classic coleslaw? How about mayonnaise in general? What’s your favorite green food?

11 thoughts on “Crunchy Kale Slaw

    1. sarahpie13 Post author

      I could see maybe while in Amsterdam… I imagine everything tastes good there 😉 And I don’t mind dips where it’s buried under other things like cheese, but on it’s own I can’t do it! haha

      Reply
  1. Madison @ Eating 4 Balance

    Wonderful pictures! I like the name of the Trader Joes vegetable mix.. Cute. Haha.

    Ya, never was a fan of mayo or coleslaw, but I know some people who are so I’ll keep this on my radar. Great addition with the cranberries!

    Reply
  2. Davida @The Healthy Maven

    I actually grew up loooooving coleslaw but haven’t had it recently because healthy versions are limited. This however is AWESOME! Oh TJs how they make the best food! Off to NYC right now (legit boarding in 2 mins) and you better bet I’ll be stopping at one!

    Thanks so much for linking up gorgeous 🙂

    Reply
    1. sarahpie13 Post author

      I couldn’t miss the chance to miss out on your green food fun 🙂 TJ’s really is my favorite, have fun with your shopping and the rest of your fun this weekend!

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Slices of Life #5 | Slices of Sarah Pie

So what do you think?

