Spill it Sunday: Bookworm Confessions

It’s no secret that I am a HUGE lover of books (right up there with my tea obsession!). I even have a pinterest board dedicated to some of my favorites 🙂 So when Arman announced the book theme for this weeks confessions I was all over it. In fact I’m sharing my favorite post from that board in lieu of a selfie today, because it’s totally worth the laugh.

Sadly I’ve never read that particular book… but I have lots of other favorites!

1. Favourite novel of all time? This is nearly impossible. I’m going to say Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close (never seen the movie but I imagine it won’t do it justice). It’s one of those books that hits you hard while you’re reading it and does it again with every re-read.

2. Favourite genre Totally depends on my mood… I love a good love story but I also love the richness that comes with well written adventure/fantasy novels, and everyone needs a good thriller once in a while 😉

3. Favourite childhood novel/Favourite teen novel- The Wild Magic quartet by Tamora Pierce. I was well down the fantasy rabbit hole by the time I read these in middle school, but everything from the strong female character to the suspenseful romance of the plot keeps these near the top of my list… and that’s saying something because I read a LOT of YA fiction.

4. Favourite Series? My guilty pleasure series is the Temperance Brennan mysteries by Kathy Reichs (they’re the basis for my favorite TV show Bones). My favorite series overall would have to be the Hobbit/Lord of the Rings for the sheer history and depth of the writing (though if I ever start the Sherlock Holmes stories there might be some competition for this top spot).

5. Which book would you hope future generations will continue to consider a classic? In terms of new classics I would hope the Harry Potter books continue in popularity as my generation grows up. Not only are the books well written for kids to grow with the whole magic of the series was something historical and I would love to pass that same enthusiasm down to future generations.

From literature that is already classic I hope that the works of Jane Austen are around for a long, long time!

Shout out with a recommendation below! I’m always looking for something new to read.

9 thoughts on “Spill it Sunday: Bookworm Confessions

  1. Arman @ thebigmansworld

    SOMEONE MOVED TO WORDPRESS!!!!!This is amazing because I can comment so much easier now ha 😉 Love the header- so simple yet polished!

    Just a heads up- Contact bloglovin to let them know to update their systems, otherwise your readers won’t see any posts from this new server- I came on here because inlinkz notified me you linked up!

    I am yet to find a movie which was adapted by a book come close to comparison- I’m ALWAYS left disappointed- I saw ads for Extremely loud and incredibly close but never saw the film so I’ll have to check it out! Thanks! 🙂

    Reply
    1. sarahpie13 Post author

      Hahaha thanks! I thought I fixed the Bloglovin problem last week because Meghan was having problems too… Time to email them again I guess 😉

      So far the Hunger Games movies are beating the books for me which is a first ever (though that might just be because I adore Jennifer Lawrence).

      Reply
  2. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets

    Well my friend, I have to say you’ve inspired me to do some reading, other than just a handful of pages in bed at night. Thank you for that. I can’t wait to finish my current book (Book 4 in the Game of Thrones series), so I can start reading massive amounts of other books again too.

    Jewish Japanese Sex Cookbook….what the what?

    Reply
    1. sarahpie13 Post author

      I don’t know what that cookbook is about but I admit I kind of want to find a copy 😉 The Game of Thrones books have been on my to-read list for such a long time! I need to wait until school is done though because I know I would want to sit there and plow through them all with minimal stopping for distractions like class and work.

      Reply
  3. Madison @ Eating 4 Balance

    Congrats on the new website! I still haven’t completely switched mine over yet. It’s a work in progress for sure!

    Yes to the Harry Potter! I’ve never read Kathy Reich’s Bones series but I have looked into buying the first one. I have the first in her spin-off series featuring Brennan’s niece but I haven’t finished it yet because I got caught up in other books.

    Reply
  4. relishthefeast

    Over the past couple of years, I have really enjoyed memoirs by foodies/chefs. Ruth Reichl’s books were enjoyable. Cleaving (the follow up to Julie & Julia) by Julie Powell was good, but I felt a bit sad for the characters. I’m currently reading Russ & Daughters by Mark Russ Federman, and so far, it’s good. Out of the food genre, my mom turned me on to Liane Moriarty’s books. What Remains by Carole Radziwell was beautifully written but terribly heartbreaking. On the flip side, The Year of Living Biblically by A.J. Jacobs made me laugh out loud. Hope you find something in there that you like!

    Reply

So what do you think?

