Chocolate Almond Microvawe Cake

Sometimes a girl just needs cake. Warm, chocolaty cake…
 
Okay so maybe I just need chocolate. You all know you’ve had those weeks 🙂 


The thing is I’m not that much of a sweets person… my cravings usually lean more to the salty side of things (like my horribly beloved chip dip!) But a different kind of craving is a great time to experiment, right?
Lucky for me this was an experiment that paid off. I’ve never really messed around with mug cakes before, but after flipping through a handful of recipes I figured I could pull together something that fit the ingredients I had on hand. The result was a surprisingly light, richly chocolate, cake. I added some thawed frozen berries and extra almonds the first time… and may have gone a little crazy with the almond butter the second. 
Any way you top it this baby is simple and sweet, two words which should satisfy any craving you may have. 
Chocolate Almond Microwave Cake
Serves 2
5 minutes
Ingredients
3 TBSP coconut oil
1/4 cup dark (or semi-sweet) chocolate chips
3 TBSP sugar
1/4 cup almond flour
1 egg (or flax egg)
Toppings (almonds, fruit, and nut butters are all awesome!)
In a microwave safe bowl (cereal size is perfect) combine coconut oil and chocolate chips. Microwave on high in 30 second intervals until melted. Stir in sugar and flour until combined. Add in egg and stir to combine. Microwave on high for 3 minutes or until set. 
Serve warm with desired toppings. 

6 thoughts on “Chocolate Almond Microvawe Cake

So what do you think?

