The reading list

Goal number 6 on my 25 before 25  is to complete my reading list. Like many lists that can be found across the internet this is a list of books to read. They are suggestions from family and friends, classics, and books I’ve previously passed by on the library shelves. 
I know next semester will be busy with clinicals, but clinicals are different from classes and I am looking forward to having more time for personal reading. 
Anna Karenina- Leo Tolstoy 
Come To Me- Amy Bloom 
White Oleander- Janet Fitch
The Fountainhead- Ayn Rand
Even Cowgirls Get the Blues- Tom Robbins
Hateship Friendship Courtship Loveship Marriage- Alice Munro
The Unbearable Lightness of Being- Milan Kundera
How Should a Person Be?- Sheila Heti
Portrait of a Lady-Henry James
A Room of One’s Own- Virginia Woolf
The Complete Sherlock Holmes-Arthur Conan Doyle
Good Omens by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman
The Handmaid’s Tale- Marget Atwood 
Jane Eyre- Charlotte Bronte
The Divine Comedy- Dante Alighieri 
Memoirs of a Geisha- Arthur Golden 
Frankenstein- Mary Shelley 
Never Let Me Go- Kazuo Ishiguro 
Catch 22- Joseph Heller

Fahrenheit 45- Ray Bradbury
By the time I finish this I’m hoping to have some new books to add to my all time favorites list! 

What’s your favorite book? 
6 thoughts on “The reading list

  1. eating4balance

    The Handmaid's Tale and The Unbearable Lightness of Being are both amazing books! The second is a little hard to get into but overall pretty good. Very contemplative 🙂

    I started Ray Bradbury's Fahrenheit book in high school but never finished because I had to read some other books for reports and it got put on the way side. But that's definitely one that I want to read because the beginning was fantastic and the plot sounds very interesting.

    Reply
  2. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets

    Now that's a personal reading list. You've got some heavy hitters on there too, although I would love to read The Complete Sherlock Holmes. It's elementary my dear Watson. 😉
    I own Frankenstein and Memoirs of a Geisha, so if you ever make it this way, I'll let you borrow them. 🙂

    Reply
  3. Sarah Pie

    Yeah I have my little brothers high school copy, my class never had to read it for some reason, but he says it's good so I'm excited to get into it.

    Glad to hear I picked some other good ones, it's been a while since I've really read for fun, I was afraid I was out of practice 🙂

    Reply
  4. Sarah Pie

    Well that's motivation right there to come visit 🙂

    My brother got me hooked on the TV show elementary, and I've been anxious to read the real stories ever since.

    Reply
  5. Pingback: WIR #42: What happens when I’m brain dead | Slices of Sarah Pie

  6. Pingback: Why I read | Slices of Sarah Pie

So what do you think?

