Chopped Kitchen Challenge October 2013: Reveal Day!!

Happy Thursday everyone (and Happy Halloween!) It’s the end of the month, and almost the end of the week which means its time for a party 🙂 
This months challenge was the flavors of fall. Any combination of pumpkin, apple, ginger, and chili makes your recipe eligible to enter… though if you wanted to link up something else entirely I probably wouldn’t judge (I’m flexible like that). 
I have 4 recipes to share with you this month (okay 3 1/2 more on that below) so let’s get right into the goodies!
Sweet and Spicy Almonds
The easiest of the recipes here, but no less delicious. 
1 1/2 cups raw almonds
1/4 cup honey
2 TBSP oil of your choice (I used olive oil)
1 TBSP chili powder
1 tsp dried ginger
2 tsp pumpkin pie spice (you could sub allspice or cinnamon if you don’t have this)
2-3 tsp Salt, to taste
Preheat oven to 250* combine oil, honey, and spices (except salt) in a small bowl. Lay the almonds in a single layer on a cookie sheet and pour the mixture over. Toss to coat. Bake for 10-12 minutes stirring once (it’s best if you bake these while you have something else to do in the kitchen, you want to stay close so they don’t burn). When browned remove from the oven and sprinkle with salt. 

Spiced Apple Crisp (Makes 2)

Fruit with any sort of crumbly topping is my go to when fall rolls in. We usually make an apple cranberry crunch once a week once cranberries hit the store, so I wanted to take one of my fall favorites and dial the flavors up a notch. The chili powder adds spice without heat, providing an extra dimension to the other warm spices. 

For the filling
2 apples, washed and chopped (I used honeycrisp, but macintosh would be good too)
1 tsp chili powder
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp ground ginger
1 TBSP honey
For the topping
3/4 cup oats (mine were GF of course)
1/4 cup flour (also GF for me)
3-4 TBSP honey (depending on how sweet you want it)
4 TBSP butter (half a stick) or 4 TBSP coconut oil
Preheat oven to 350*. Wash and chop the apples into bite size pieces and toss with the spices and honey to coat. Divide into 2 small baking dishes. Meanwhile melt butter (or coconut oil) in a small bowl, about 45 seconds in the microwave. Stir in oats, flour, and honey, and mix to combine. Evenly divide topping mixture over the filling and press down slightly. Bake at 350* for 20-25 minutes until topping is brown and filling is bubbling slightly around the edges. 

Pumpkin Cream Cheese Muffins 

I can’t take credit for these beauties (although the pictures are from my batch), the recipe originally came from Annie’s Eats. I can however vouch that they came out just as addictive with GF flour, 1/2 the amount of powdered sugar in the filling, and 1 1/4 cups sugar in the batter. I’d be more comfortable calling these a cupcake because they are full of sugar, but whatever the label they taste AMAZING!
More work than your average muffin with the topping 
and the filling, but totally worth it for a special treat. 

Cinnamon Baked Apples

Oh look another apple recipe… what can I say I have my favorites and pumpkin (while tasty) is not at the top of the list. That’s okay though because apples are amazing. Besides helping to keep the doctor away these beauties taste great fresh, baked, broiled, roasted (basically any way you can think to eat them!). Baked apples are a great make ahead breakfast for when you want something a little different than oatmeal (my other fall go-to) and they reheat beautifully in the microwave. 

3 apples (I used some honeycrisp ones that were on their way out, but feel free to use your favorite)
1 cup oats (mine were GF of course)
1/4 cup flour (also GF for me)
1/4 cup honey, plus more for serving
6 TBSP butter (half a stick) or 6 TBSP coconut oil
2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp ground ginger
2 tsp chili powder (trust me it’s awesome)
Preheat oven to 375*. Wash and core your apples (I tried one cut in half with the seeds scooped out and that worked too).Combine spices in a small dish and sprinkle inside the apples. Melt butter (or coconut oil) in a small bowl, then stir in oats, honey, and flour to combine. Stuff mixture into apples. Place in a muffin tin (it keep everything tidy) and bake at 375* for 25-30 minutes* until apples are tender. Feel free to serve with more honey and an extra sprinkle of cinnamon!
*you may have to cover the apples with foil if the topping starts to brown before the apples are fully cooked. 
So that’s all I have for you this month. November’s ingredients will be up next week when this month’s link up closes… which means you have a whole week to share all the goodies you came up with. I know at least one of you has some treats in store, and I can’t wait to see what everyone else has to offer!

document.write(”);

6 thoughts on “Chopped Kitchen Challenge October 2013: Reveal Day!!

  1. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets

    I want all of these, even the pumpkin muffins (cupcakes, sugar balls, whatever). I do a sweet roasted almond so I'm really interested in your savory ones. I can't wait to give them a try. Great stuff here. I'm linking up my Apple Granola, which is an oldie but a goodie, and I'm going to try and make something new this weekend so I can link up come Monday.
    Great stuff.

    Reply
  2. eating4balance

    I really wish I had been caught up on my blog reading before this weekend because then I could have made those almonds! 🙂

    And I just realized that I was planning on doing my Challenge post today. Whoops. I guess it will have to wait for WIAW!

    Reply
  3. Sarah Pie

    Two entries!? You're totally winning this round 🙂 (plus the quiche looks amazing). You should try something sweet with your pumpkin in the basement (when I mix a little into banana bread you can't even taste it!)

    Reply

So what do you think?

