WIR #26: Eat, run, and be merry

Hello lovelies! It was hard to bring the weekend to an end and start Monday this week… but at least I have the list loving fun of week in review to ease the transition.

In case you’re new (HI!!) this weekly party is a chance to look back on all you accomplished this week and give yourself a pat on the back. Our hostess, the list-queen Meghan always brings something awesome to the party so you should go say hi (after you’re done here, of course!). 
This week threw me off in more ways than one. Not only did I no longer have the praxis to study for or the seminar classes I was taking the first half of the semester,  I also didn’t have my clinical site all week (my supervisor was out of town) so I found myself with a large pile of free time on my hands and nothing that HAD to be done… a very odd feeling with the pace that school is usually moving but it was an awesome change of pace. 
That means I had a really fun week for a change, that was totally focused on things I like to do. That would include cooking, photographing, running, laminating (it’s a SLP thing), and reading for the fun of it!
The eats 
I spent a lot of time in the kitchen this week. Testing, photographing, and enjoying a whole variety of recipes for this months Chopped Kitchen Challenge, which I cannot wait to share with you .

I spy apples and pumpkin… the ginger and chili are hiding. 
The party starts this Thursday and will last for a week so get your fall favorites ready!

 The workouts 
 I did a double up on Zumba and weights at the school gym Monday and Wednesday (thankfully the weight class fits pretty well in the parameters of Steph’s challenge). I did a day of weights on my own at home, and lots of yoga throughout the week. I set a record (for myself) running last weekend that I haven’t been able to beat yet but I did get in 2 very chilly runs this week.

I’ll have a review of Steph’s program on Friday when I finish up my 30 days (and there might be a surprise for you as well!) and I can’t wait to share my fitness commitment for the next 30 days at that time too! You all have been awesome for keeping me accountable, which has always been my biggest struggle. 

The life 

While my week was a nice balance of me time, the best part of this week had to be a full weekend off from work (the last time that happened was probably around Christmas last year) and BF and I took full advantage with a road trip down to visit college friends for homecoming.

It was a lot of driving and a lot of corn (not much else along the highway here in Illinois) but it was totally worth it to spend Saturday catching up with old friends while playing a dizzying array of games. 
Thankfully I was not invited to participate in the 9am Mario Kart challenge. 
Last week was an excellent balance of food, fun, and fitness (the kind of balance I wish I could have in every week) and unfortunately this week will not be quite a nice. We finally move out of the condo starting Thursday (when my parents close on the house) and right now the piles of boxes everywhere are becoming overwhelming. On the bright side BF is helping my dad move furniture (since my baby brother is down at college) so at least I know I get to see him at the end of this craziness. 
Here’s hoping your week was your brand of balanced and accomplished (with not as many boxes around). And if not it’s the start of a new week, so you can make this one what you want 🙂 
6 thoughts on “WIR #26: Eat, run, and be merry

  1. eating4balance

    I don't know how I'm going to fit all of my Fall foods in on time 🙂 There's just so many! I'm really looking forward to your use of pumpkin and apples… Oh, and whatever those almonds are!

    Reply
  2. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets

    Your week sounds ideal and talk about balance. It was the perfect balance of work and play.
    Nice job on the double workouts. You're becoming a workout machine. Bow chicka wow wow.
    I can't wait to see what you concocted for your CKC, and I'm hoping to make my dish this weekend so I can link up early next week.

    Reply

So what do you think?

