30 Days of Fitness: The importance of self care

Good morning everyone! I don’t know about you but this week in particular I am more than happy to say TGIF. The headaches have really been knocking me down this week and combined with the horrible (hormonal? stress? sweat?) case of adult acne that is taking over my neck and back I’ve been feeling a little less than loving towards my body lately.

Which is frustrating because a big part of the program I’m committed to this month is learning to love your body… I’ll admit to being skeptical  at first because I don’t usually buy into the touchy feely, think about your relationship with your body, aspect of fitness. I can understand it’s importance for some people (especially those in recovery) but for most of my short life I have been blissfully unaware of how it feels to be uncomfortable in your own skin.

Which is why this sudden upswing in headaches (an area of my health I can’t seem to control) and increase in acne (to the point where I’m starting to resemble my teenage brother) seem particularly ironic considering I’ve spent the last 10 days journaling and meditating on all the things I love about my body.

I’m the one who made the decision to make my health a priority. I’m the one who has enjoyed the rush of a (terrible yet invigorating) run, a boot camp class, and my at home weight sessions with Steph, despite my body’s best attempts to lay me flat on my back for a better part of the week. 
So the fact that my body chose now (while I’m actually trying to make some changes for the better) to stage a mini rebellion is both frustrating and enlightening. 
The biggest thing I am gaining from this months challenge so far (besides some pain in the triceps!) is a new found insight into my body. While taking the time to reflect and write and meditate I am learning to listen to myself. While trying to make it through another day of clinicals and the commute home before passing out into bed while the headache passes I am learning to be respectful of my limits. While working to place priority on all the aspects that make up my life I am learning the importance of personal time (and space). 
This is a work in progress. I am a work in progress. And I am learning and growing every day. I encourage you to listen to yourself today, really listen, and see what your body (not your mind!) has to say. I never explored the difference between the two before, but I am working at it day by day and loving what I find. 
Do me a favor and indulge in a little self care this weekend, will you? I promise it’s worth it 🙂 

6 thoughts on “30 Days of Fitness: The importance of self care

  1. Davida @TheHealthyMaven

    I love this line: “I am learning to be respectful of my limits”. Hit the nail on the head! This is EXACTLY what I am dealing with right now. I kept putting off resting and giving myself some much needed R and R that I completely burnt myself out. Now I am taking all the energy I was putting into fitness and my go go go lifestyle and instead channeling it to my mental health and self-care. I'm already starting to feel better 🙂

    Reply
  2. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets

    What a great introspective post. It sounds like despite your body's rebellious ways, you have your head on together straight. A lot of people could learn from you, myself included. Have a great weekend. Here's to some self-care!

    Reply

So what do you think?

