Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp

Good morning I hope everyone had a wonderful 4th! I’ll be recapping yesterday’s festivities (and this weekend fun with the BF!!!!) next week, but for now I have a sweet little treat to end the week with. 
I love when rhubarb is in season! Strawberries are fine and dandy but to me they are second best to the texture and tang of fresh rhubarb. Especially when it comes to crisps…
Can I just say for a second how much I love “desserts” like these? Fresh, ripe fruit baked under a golden crust of oatmeal goodness. It almost sounds good enough for you to serve up for breakfast. Not that I’ve done that… on several occasions…

At least I only add ice cream in in the evening 🙂 
My mom found the original recipe she wanted to try on the Smitten Kitchen, but their topping was a little too flour heavy for my gluten free tastes. We make an awesome apple cranberry crunch in the fall with an oat based topping and  decided, why not? Since we were making alterations I changed up the thickener and cut out some of the sugar as well (don’t tell my mom!). Based on how quickly the latest batch disappeared I don’t think anyone noticed. 

A pan that could easily serve 8 is lucky to last a full 24 hours around our family of 4, so consider yourself warned! It really is a perfect summer dessert, fruity, fresh and not too heavy. Plus it couldn’t be simpler to make. 

Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp 
adapted from The Smitten Kitchen
Serves 6-8

60 minutes

Filling 
1 quart strawberries, rinsed and sliced
5-6 stalks of rhubarb, rinsed and sliced
1 lemon, juiced
1/4 cup sugar
5-6 tablespoons of tapioca starch (you can use corn starch, but tapioca gave the filling a smoother, more gel-like consistency)

Topping
1 1/2 cups oats (GF if necessary)
1 stick butter, melted
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/3 cup flour (I used brown rice, but feel free to substitute regular or GF all purpose)

Preheat oven to 350*, combine fruit and sugar in the bottom of a 1 quart baking dish*. Combine lemon juice  and tapioca starch in a separate dish and mix into the fruit. Melt butter and stir into oats, flour and brown sugar. Spread topping evenly over the top of the fruit (fell free to sample any bits that stick to the bowl!).  Bake at 350* for 45-50 minutes until topping is golden brown and filling is bubbly.

Serve warm or room temperature, plain or topped with ice cream or plain yogurt. Try not to go back for second third helpings in a single night.

*Really any size dish that holds your fruit will do, the smaller/deeper dishes just mean a thicker layer of topping which is never a bad thing!

What’s your favorite “dessert” to eat for breakfast? 

6 thoughts on “Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp

  1. brainbodybecause

    I love the color of this! I have to be honest, the tang of rhubarb can be a bit much for me, but this really does look good! Especially with those strawberries 😀

    Reply
  2. Katherine

    I'm currently loving anything with strawberries, and this is no exception! Dessert for breakfast is totally my type dish! I especially like how you healthified this a bit! A healthier dessert for breakfast? I'm seriously SO in!

    Reply

So what do you think?

