WIAW #13: Eating clean on the go

Hey guys! It’s Wednesday and you know what that means? Everyone, everywhere will be trying their hardest to control their drool as we all creep on each others eats for the day/week. In other words it’s What I Ate Wednesday 🙂 


Thanks to Jenn for hosting this months snack themed party! 

After my misadventures in eating last week, I’ve been taking it easy on my stomach and really cleaning things up these past few days. That and summer clinic has started so I’m back to grab-and-go/drinkable foods for the foreseeable future. 

At least I’m getting all the major food groups in

Overnight oats with almond milk, banana, almond butter, caco nibs and chia seeds. Stuffed in my face before I got to the highway driving part of my commute. 

Snack #1: Road fruit (grapes today) for the rest of the commute. 
Ginger mint tea and ginger chews to settle my nerves before my first client. 

Green smoothie to be  gulped down between clients and supervisor meetings. This one was loaded with spinach,m ginger, celery, and green apple. 
Snack #2: Chocolate chip granola bar from my Foodie Pen Pals box this month. Ready to be scarfed down between my last client and supervisor meeting for the day. 
Leftover Vegetarian Tortilla soup. This is the perfect size portion to heat and gulp as I get on the road to head out to job #1 for parent orientation tonight. 
I’d love some leftover strawberry rhubarb crisp or a glass of wine when I get home tonight, but sadly I finished both… whoops. But there it is, my grab-and-go recovery diet which so far seems to be working.
What is your go to food when your body feels “meh”? 

12 thoughts on “WIAW #13: Eating clean on the go

  1. Katherine

    Your overnight oats in a jar look amazing! I really need to make some, smoothies have been my go to breakfast lately! That vegetarian tortilla soup looks amazing ah!

    Reply
  2. forgottenbeast

    Greek yogurt's my go-to. Cool, creamy. Yeah, I know dairy probably isn't the best idea, but it's all I crave when my tum's just not happy. That, or a big bowl of oatmeal. Or…greek yogurt on top of a bowl of oatmeal. The best of both worlds!

    Mmm, grapes! I am absolutely in love with grapes, but if their in my house? I'll put away the entire bag. And that definitely does NOT make for a happy tummy. But it does make for a happy me 😉

    Hope you're feeling better and back on track already!

    Reply
  3. Sarah Pie

    MMM greek yogurt on oatmeal sounds delicious!!
    I'm not a huge grape person but I have your self control issue with apples… leave me with some apples and a knife and I'll put 2-3 down no problem.

    And I am feeling much better, thanks!

    Reply
  4. brainbodybecause

    All of this food looks awesome! I hope you're feeling better soon.

    Tea is totally my go to when I feel out of sorts. I hate to use this word, but there is something so detoxifying and cathartic and relaxing and…just cleansing about it. I always feel better after drinking some 🙂

    Reply
  5. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets

    Talk about being back on track. Lots of great clean eats here. I hope you are feeling better as a result. I love the green smoothie and the vegetarian tortilla soup. That sounds really good.
    I very rarely have an upset stomach (tummy of steel; I know I'm lucky), but when it is upset, I eat some kind of ginger. It's great at calming upset stomachs.

    Reply
  6. Sarah Pie

    You and me both! I drink a lot of tea as is but when I'm feeling off my intake usually doubles 🙂 Detoxifying is a great word haha, especially for really good teas!

    Reply
  7. Sarah Pie

    That's been my go to as of late too (true story I have crystallized ginger, ginger chews, freeze dried ginger, and ginger tea in my closet right now… I may have a bit of a problem).

    Reply

So what do you think?

