Strawberry Banana Muffins

Hey guys! If you follow me on Instagram you got a little sneak peak of these beauties earlier in the week (just saying!). We’ve been on fruit overload at my house trying to clean out the fridge from last weekend’s graduation party before  the big move (to the cozy condo…) this weekend. The surplus of fruit combined with  the temptation from Meghan‘s post earlier this week means I decided to play copycat and make up a batch of my own Strawberry Banana Muffins 🙂

And because we all know how well I follow recipes when I cook… whoops… I’m sharing my version with you (and I’ll be honest I think the similarities end with  the fruit) You know, you can never have TOO many muffin recipes. 
(okay I threw one blueberry one in there for good measure)
These ones are really good fresh out of the oven with a little smear of butter (not that I did that…) and they should be good for a few days on  the counter, if they make it that long. Just pop them in the oven (or the microwave, or the toaster oven, whatever floats your boat) to warm them back up first. Trust me you’ll be happy you did. 
These are similar  to banana bread in texture (wonder why?!) but bursting with fruity goodness. I’ll be honest this was my first time putting strawberries in any sort of baked good, and I am SO GLAD I did because these came out awesome (if I do say so myself). 

If you have any extra strawberries lying around the house you need to make yourself a batch stat! (And if you don’t have strawberries lying around you should go get some so you can make muffins!)


Strawberry Banana Muffins
Makes 6

30 minutes

3/4 cup brown rice flour
1/4 cup sorghum flour
(or one cup of your favorite GF/non-GF all purpose flour)
1/2 tsp baking soda
1-2 teaspoons cinnamon
pinch of salt

1 tsp Vanilla extract
1 medium, very ripe, banana, mashed
1 egg
3/4-1 cup milk (I used unsweetened vanilla almond milk)

1 cup (ish) Strawberries or blueberries (or whatever berries you have)

Preheat oven to 375*. Whisk egg and banana and vanilla extract together in a mixing bowl.  Add in dry ingredients and mix well to combine* Divide mixture evenly between 6 lined muffin tins (those silicon cups make for easy clean up). Divide berries evenly between all muffins, pushing some into the batter and leaving some on top. Resist the urge to add extra berries or your muffins will NOT cook (not that I know from experience…) seriously no more than a cup.

Bake at 375* for 12-18 minutes until golden brown on top and a toothpick in the center comes out clean. How long they take to cook will depend somewhat on how many berries you add (you over stuffers have been warned!)

*you should probably sift them in together but I think our sifter is packed already…

What’s your favorite fruity baked good?

10 thoughts on “Strawberry Banana Muffins

So what do you think?

