Together Tuesday #3: Muffins for dessert

Hey guys! I finally had a chance to recipe test over the weekend, which means I have a treat for…
(be sure to stop by Jessie’s  for the rest of the party)
I’m still lusting over just about all the food at Peachy Palate, especially this cake! Someday I’ll get enough time to cook my way through her website, sadly that won’t be anytime soon. 
I also can’t wait to try this fabulous sauce from Peas and Crayons. Jenn has been posting pictures of it EVERYWHERE, driving me nuts. But it should be nice enough for burgers this weekend so I plan on making a GIANT batch 🙂
This weekend though, I made muffins. Technically I made a few other treats as well (you’ll just have to come back again to see what they were!). 
I give you Cranberry Ginger muffins. I know those are both really “Fall” flavors, but they happened to be in the kitchen and they sounded really good together. And you know what, they are!! 

These are pretty dense muffins, more like a bread, but the cranberries and ginger give them a bright, fresh, flavor that make them perfect for breakfast. And topping with ice cream (not that I did that…). 

Cranberry Ginger Muffins
Makes 12
30 minutes
1 cup AP flour (mine was GF of course)
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/4 -1/2 cup water
1/4 cup orange juice
1 egg
4 TBSP crystallized ginger, divided
1 cup cranberries
Preheat oven to 375*. Combine egg, 1/4 cup of water, and orange juice in a large mixing bowl. Stir in flour and sugar until combined. If batter looks dry add the extra 1/4 cup of water (you want a thick batter, but it should look smooth not clumpy). Dice the crystallized ginger and fold 2 TBSP, along with the cranberries, into the batter. Divide evenly among 12 muffin cups and top with remaining 2 TBSP of crystallized ginger. Bake for 15-20 minutes until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. 
Serve warm or cold, for breakfast, snacks, or desert (if you top them with a little vanilla and more crystallized ginger I won’t tell anyone). 
What’s something delicious you made over the weekend?

6 thoughts on “Together Tuesday #3: Muffins for dessert

So what do you think?

