Together Tuesdays #1: Breakfast and Balls

Hey Guys, by the time I get through my Tuesdays and Wednesdays the hardest part of my week is over (so I’m already halfway there right?). This week I thought I would link up with Jess’s Together Tuesday to share some of the recipes I’m looking into trying out soon. 
First up is Lauren’s oatmeal french toast! 
Seriously such a clever idea, and french toast is one of the things I’ve missed most since going GF (I’ve yet to find a bread that holds up to my dad’s batter in the way I remember from my childhood). I figure this is an entirely new experience, I won’t expect it to taste like my dad’s because it isn’t… and that make me very excited for the weekend when I have time to try a batch 🙂
I also want to try Michelle’s banana chocolate smoothie (and her carob chip banana bread, and basically everything she has posted in the last week…)
I figure a girl can never have too many smoothie recipes in her back pocket, and that one just looks amazing, doesn’t it? Definitely on my to try list for Thursday (my easy day, so my smoothie can be a little smaller!). I really want to try everything she’s posted this week… I really need more time to eat!
The one recipe I have tried doesn’t really belong to anyone, mostly because I feel like everyone has some version of a raw protein/granola/larabar type treat on their blogs lately (and you all know how much I like to follow recipes in the first place…not). So inspired by EVERYONE I decided to try my had at making a tasty, healthy, afternoon pick-me-up, featuring some of the goodies I got at the store last week. 
I give you… BALLS!
(cookie dough balls to be exact)
With all the deliciousness of chocolate chip cookie dough (not that I’d ever eat that…) and none of the junk you get in a package of Tollhouse. These little guys are tasty and filling, and I may or may not be about halfway through my second batch already… whoops 🙂
“Cookie Dough” Balls
makes 20 (ish) balls, 5-6 servings
Time: 20 minutes
1/2 cup raw almonds
3-4 pitted dates
1/4 cup honey (add an extra 2 dates if you don’t want to use honey)
3/4 cup rolled oats (I use GF ones from Bob’s Red Mill)
1/4 cup chia seeds
1-2 TBSP water
1/4 carob chips
Toast the almonds over medium heat for 3-5 minutes until warm and fragrant (this makes the next step faster). Place the almonds in a food processor and process for 5-6 minutes until you have almond butter (it’s about a half a cup of almond butter if you want to skip this step). 
Add in the dates and honey and pulse to combine. Add the oats and process until combined. If at this point your “dough” looks to crumbly slowly add the water, processing as you go, until it comes together into one sticky clump. 
Add the chia seeds and carob chips and pulse 1-2 times to combine (you don’t want to over pulse and break these down). Roll the dough into ~1/2 inch balls and place in a single layer in a storage container. They taste best if you put them in the fridge for 10-15 minutes before eating (if you can wait that long). 
Store covered in the fridge. I imagine they would be good for up to a week (the longest mine have lasted is 2 days, but my current batch is going on day 3 and they still look fine). 
Be sure and hop on over to the party to see what everyone else is trying out this week 🙂
Have you tried another blogger’s recipe lately? How are you when it comes to following the directions in a recipe? 
2 thoughts on “Together Tuesdays #1: Breakfast and Balls

So what do you think?

