Green Machine

Hey guys! The marvelous in my Monday this weeks comes from my headaches finally being gone! That lingering migraine that kept coming back day after day for the last two weeks has cleared 🙂 And in it’s wake it has left me looking to clean up my life. I don’t want to have to rely on medications to prevent headaches from forming, or steroids (like I took this weekend) to break through a lingering stretch of pain. I already eat a pretty clean diet (gluten free grains, fruits, veggies, lean meats, and naturally low fat diary) but there is always room for improvement. Drawing some inspiration from last weeks books I’ve been doing quite a bit of research into plant based and anti-inflammatory diets, and at least for the next 2 weeks (before I go back to the DR.) I’m going to try and incorporate more of those principles into my life. 

That’s where this goodness comes in. I’m not going full on vegan, or even vegetarian. I’m not big on labels in the first place, I just want to eat. And I never thought I would be the kind of person who would ENJOY a green smoothie. 

(I kind of love the color of this one)
I’ve been drinking these for breakfast for the last 3 days now, along with upping my veggies in general. I’m also cutting out most dairy and most meat for the next two weeks (Hello quinoa!). I don’t have a juicer, but my dad has an immersion blender which has been perfect for whipping up single serving green smoothies each morning (if I like this maybe I’ll look into a juicer for my birthday). I’m feeling pretty good so far if I do say so myself, and I’ll be sure to keep you all updated on how this little experiment turns out 🙂
Green Machine Smoothie
Serves one
Two minutes
3-4 romaine lettuce leaves
1 cup baby spinach
1/3 a cucumber
1 banana
Wash lettuce and spinach, and peel the cucumber (unless it’s organic than go for the extra nutrients). Put cucumber and banana in a blender and blend until smooth. Add the romaine and spinach, blending slowly until well combined. 
If you don’t plan to drink this right away make sure you have enough to fill your container to the top and put the lid on tight. This recipe makes one full mason jar (perfect for grab and go travel).

Be sure to head over to Healthy Diva Eats for the rest of this Marvelous Monday link up!

2 thoughts on “Green Machine

So what do you think?

