Baking away

I woke up this morning to an email stating my first class of the day had been cancelled. I usually a little annoyed when this sort of thing happens since my commute is almost an hour each way, driving down for an hour of class just doesn’t seem worth it.

But this class was THE class. The one we all love to hate. So I was a little less bothered. And trying to keep things on a positive note I decided to fill my extra time with some baking 🙂

(actually enjoying my breakfast at home)
I mad Sticky Finger’s Scones for the first time a few weeks ago and thought they were delicious. Today I tried the apple oat flavor, and they did not disappoint  As usual I modified the instructions a bit, mixing in a 1/4 of Greek yogurt in place of the oil (which helps give GF products a bit of that fluffy texture they sometimes lack). 
I enjoyed my morning treat so much that I didn’t even mind having to whip up a batch of non-GF brownies for my mom to take to work tomorrow. 
(chocolate at it’s finest)
I don’t always get free time, but when I do I like to bake 🙂 What do you do when you get some unexpected bonus time in your day?
So what do you think?

