Taking the time

I feel like I say this every week, but boy has the start of this one been hectic! Over the weekend I started my final client at the clinic, and then went home to find out my job had tried to assign me to be in 2 places at once (I might actually be up to 3 now, I’ll keep you posted!) That means that I’ve been basically glued to my email (which is not fun) and trying to figure out how to clone myself in order to keep up with all this work (which is slightly more fun, but not really).

At least we had enough time on Saturday to go out and visit my Great Grandma for her birthday!

It was a really simple afternoon, we ate pizza, had tea and this beautiful cake! We spent the afternoon talking and reminiscing and just generally having a wonderful time. 

And those few lovely hours this weekend, were enough to pull me back from all the craziness and back into the simpler moments of life. It can be hard when your head is spinning in 15 different directions to take some time for yourself (and even harder to justify the time!). 
But emotional/social health is my goal for this month (while maintaining the physical health goals I started last month). That means I am making a genuine effort to maintain (or rebuild) my relationships with my friends and loved ones far away, as well as genuinely trying to find time for myself. 
It can be as simple as taking the time to sit for 10 minutes and enjoy my breakfast (blueberry scones and my favorite Chai tea) which I did this morning instead of eating in the car as I drove to school. It was amazing, in those 10 minutes the world didn’t end and I faced my commute (and the rest of my morning) with a much brighter attitude than I have in a while. 
So join me in making your friends and yourself a priority this month, and lets spread the good feelings around!

One thought on “Taking the time

So what do you think?

