Cozy winter morning

I finally had a morning off this week, and my little brother (who I drive to school each day) was even kind enough to let me sleep in (okay technically he overslept but still works for me). Given that it was like -3 outside and I didn’t plan on leaving the house again ever I decided to use the time to make myself something a little tastier than a wrap for breakfast 🙂
Doesn’t that look cozy?

I started by slicing up two apples, and laying them in an even layer in a nonstick pan. 

Then you hit them with a ton of pumpkin pie spice and a little water, and let them hang out until they look a little something like this (which, trust me, makes the kitchen smell amazing by the time you’re done!).
Put them in a bowl, top with some yogurt, honey, nuts (we still have a ton of chopped pecans from when my mom considered opening a toffee business this Christmas…) and enjoy the fact that you don’t have to go back into the cold. Unless you do, in which case I’m sorry!

Easy Breakfast Apples
Makes 2 servings

15 minutes

2 apples, I used honeycrisp, but gala or granny smith would be tasty too
1-2 TB water
1-2 tsp pumpkin pie spice (or more to taste)

1 cup Plain, non-fat Greek yogurt
2TB honey
Chopped nuts (optional)

Thinly slice apples and place in a single layer in the bottom of a non-stick skillet. Sprinkle with pumpkin pie spice and enough water to coat the bottom of the pan. Cook over medium high heat for 8-10 minutes until the apples are soft and most of the water has cooked out.

To serve divide apples evenly among 2 bowls (or pack one portion up for leftovers, just don’t add the other stuff in until you’re ready to eat). Top warm apples with 1/2 the yogurt, 1 Tb honey (more or less to taste) and the chopped nuts.

Best served with a cozy sweatshirt and a warm mug of chai tea 🙂

So what do you think?

