New year, new me

Happy New Year everyone!!

If you are like me (and a whole slew of other people…) the new year starts all shiny and full of promise. This year I am going to start eating right, this year I am going to work out more, this year I am going to stop making promises I can’t keep… you know the drill. I started this blog as a way to keep track of all the good in my life as I start this crazy process of growing up (yikes!).

I’m a semester into my graduate program now, and as I’ve admitted all too freely on here, when I get stressed out my personal health is one of the first things I let go. However I can’t be the best clinician for my clients if I’m tired from overeating, or too stiff to get down on the floor to play. So this year I am making a promise  to myself, and I’m sharing it with all of you in the hopes that you will help hold me accountable.

I promise to, for this year and all the years to come, to live my life the way I deserve to live it. I will put my health and happiness at the forefront of all my decisions so that I can be the best version of myself.

I realize that sounds a little general, and lacks the specifics necessary to really make a goal stick. That’s where the changes around here come in. Starting today you will see…

  • Weekly exercise calenders with simple routines to put physical fitness back into your life at home 
  • Weekly “meals in review” highlighting the highs (and lows) of what I’m eating this week
  •  Stress busters for those days when life gets overwhelming
  • And more personal self improvement projects, designed to help create new, “grown-up” version of myself

Let’s start with that workout calender shall we?

(I’m going to be honest here and admit that a planking contest with my cousins and a game of tag in the yard are about all the physical activity I have gotten in the past two weeks, so don’t judge me if it seems like I am starting out really slow).

Just a note, all of these videos are available for free online I’ve either come across them on Pinterest or by word of mouth.

 Tuesday
(from Yogatic)
 Wednesday

50 seated V-twists (I’m using a 10 lb medicine ball)
30 modified incline push-ups (a tall staircase works great for these)
 Thursday
(from Yogatic)
Plank until exhaustion (repeat 5x)
 Friday

(from HiitBody)
 Saturday
(from Fitsugar)
50 seated V-twists

I work all day Sunday so I am taking that as a rest day. The new calender will be up next Monday 🙂

What goals have you made for the new year? I’ll help with yours if you help with mine, and together we can be the best versions of ourselves (sound like a plan?)

So what do you think?

