GF breakfast cereal

I’m almost finished reading In Defense of Food   by Michael Pollan, and it has certainly made me more aware of the choices I make on a daily basis (to a certain extent at least). Not that I don’t eat a fairly healthy diet on a regular basis, but there is always room to learn something new. 
Since I’m also working on going to sleep/getting up on a more regular schedule I had a little extra time this morning, so you all are going to get a look at my go-to breakfast for the week. 
I started eating quinoa oatmeal a few weeks ago, I’m a big fan of a hot breakfast and I needed something to help cut the cost of GF oats. I get a big bag of organic quinoa for like 10 bucks at Costco so that certainly helps to add some bulk to my breakfast. Plus it cooks for the same time and at the same ratio as oatmeal so it’s really easy. 
I have a base recipe for spiced breakfast cereal that is delicious on its own (top picture) but the beauty with this is you can dress it up so many different ways and it’s like eating a whole new breakfast. 
The second picture is the spice cereal base topped with leftover cranberry sauce, and the third picture is the base again topped with unsweetened applesauce, half a chopped apple and a little drizzle of maple syrup (yum!). 
The other awesome thing is that it is virtually hands off to prepare, just measure everything into a pot and let it do its thing, can you really ask for anything better first thing in the morning?
Here’s how it’s done 🙂
Spiced breakfast cereal
10-15 minutes
Serves 3-4 (depending on how much you like it)
3/4 cup of oats (certified GF for all you Celiac’s out there)
1 cup quinoa
 2 1/2 cups water
Here’s where it gets a little more personal, I like my breakfast to pack a lot of flavor so I really spice it up, but you can adjust these spices to fit your personal taste (and spice rack!)
1 tsp ground cloves
1 tsp allspice
2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
1 TBSP cinnamon
Put the oats and quinoa in a pot with whatever spices you are adding and mix together. Add the water a stir again so everything is well combined. Bring to a slow boil and let it cook for about 10 minutes, or until all the liquid is absorbed.  
That’s it! You can top it with any variety of toppings you choose (chopped fruit, nuts, applesauce, honey, maple syrup, milk) but it is equally delicious on its own. You can store the leftovers in the fridge  for up to a week (if it last’s that long) and just reheat it for about two minutes in the microwave. 
What’s your go to breakfast when you have a busy morning?

So what do you think?

