Barndance and pepper steak

Hello, I’m back (sorry I know it’s been a long time). I could apologize again and tell you how busy I’ve been, but we’re all busy, so that’s probably not what you want to spend your time reading 🙂

I’ve recently been assigned a Calculus student to tutor, can you believe it? (I can’t) That was after finishing up my first ACT client, who took his test this weekend, fingers crossed it went well!

I for one was happy to be able to spend a long weekend back down in Champaign-Urbana visiting my BF. We had a whirlwind of a weekend going to barndance, catching up with old friends, seeing some more old  friends get engaged on the quad(!) and just generally enjoying having a chance to spend some time together.

One of my favorite things to do when I go down there is help him with some of his basic cooking skills. He eats a lot better than the average boy, in terms of actual food, but as far as cooking his skills are still a little lacking. That’s where I come in 🙂

The routine when I visit goes a little something like this:
He tell’s me something he wants to try
I give him a list to go shopping before I get down there
Then we actually sit down and go through the cooking together. It’s like having my own personal Food Network show! (If the Barefoot Contessa cooked out of a standard issue studio apartment kitchen)

This weekend we made pepper steak, a childhood favorite for both of us. Unfortunately dinner Sunday night was a little delayed (stupid football), so by the time it was ready to eat we dove right in before I even thought about taking pictures… but this recipe is BF approved delicious, I promise!

Pepper Steak over Rice

30 minutes
Serves 2 (with enough left over for a lunch the next day)

1 lb flank steak, round steak, ect
1/2 a large yellow onion (or one regular sized one)
1 green bell pepper
1 red bell pepper
2 cloves of garlic
3-4 TBSP Soy Sauce ( I use LaChoy because it’s gluten free)**

3 servings of hot cooked rice

Start by drizzling about a TBSP of soy sauce over the meat, to let the flavor start to soak in. The begin preparing all the vegetables. Dice half the onion and cut the rest into strips. Cut the red and green bell peppers into strips the same size as the onion pieces. Mince both cloves of garlic. Start browning the diced onion in a large saute pan (or a wok if you have one) on medium high heat. In a separate small skillet combine the remaining 2-3 TBSP of soy sauce** with 3/4 of a cup of water and one clove of minced garlic, bring this to a boil and then reduce it to a simmer to create the sauce. Once the onion is browned add the remaining clove of garlic and stir CONSTANTLY for about 30 seconds. Then add the meat to the pan and allow it to brown on both sides, about 8 minutes total. Once the meat is brown add the sliced onion and continue to saute with the meat. When the onion is translucent add the red and green peppers and the sauce from the other pan. Saute 2-4 minutes more until the peppers are your desired level of doneness and the sauce has reduced a bit more (it will still be very loose as there is no thickening agent in this recipe).  Serve over hot cooked rice.

**The amount of soy sauce here will vary by personal taste as well as the sodium content of your preferred brand of soy sauce, I used one TBSP on the meat and 3 in the sauce since we were using reduced sodium soy sauce and I wanted to make sure the flavor was still there.

Hope you spent a lovely weekend enjoying the beauty of Fall while it’s still here!

So what do you think?

