Cheesy eggs and a competitive spirit

I’ve got a crazy busy week ahead of me (a crazy month actually but that sounds depressing just writing it), and even the fact that it’s Monday (Bones day!) was not enough to cheer me up. I’m trying my best to not let my rising stress levels get the best of me, I REALLY don’t have time for another series of migraine attacks, and a big part of that is really sticking to my plans for putting my health at the forefront.

Which includes getting enough sleep, regular meditation, plenty of water, and these…

Nothing makes your morning better than a plate of yummy tasty food (even if the rest of your day stinks). I am a huge fan of breakfast foods, at all meals of the day, and this little beauty has enough good stuff packed in to help keep me on my health food track. There was nothing better than taking a moment after my workout this morning, sitting down to a hearty brunch, and enjoying the beautiful tree changing colors in my backyard. 
Here’s how it’s done…
Slice up some ham, grape tomatoes and sharp cheddar cheese. 

Toss the ham and tomatoes into a skillet to get a little caramelization on them. 

Meanwhile whip up one egg and one egg white with a splash of water and lots of cracked black pepper. 

When everyone looks nice and browned, scoot them over to one side of the pan. 

Add in the eggs and swirl the pan to spread them evenly across the bottom.

Once the eggs set a bit and you can pull the away from the edges add the cheese in to melt.
Once it’s done fold everything onto a plate, sprinkle with chopped green onions and enjoy 🙂
Cheesy Breakfast Eggs

8-10 minutes
Serves one
1 egg and 1 egg white
1 slice low sodium Canadian bacon (deli ham works too)
Good sized handful of grape tomatoes (I used about 10)
1 oz sharp cheddar cheese
2 small scallions 
Dice the bacon and halve tomatoes, place both in a skillet to brown. Whip the egg and egg white together with a TBSP of water and as much pepper as you want. Add eggs to the pan and swirl to get them evenly distributed. When eggs start to pull away from the edge of the pan add the cheese, and start to pull the eggs into the middle of the pan. Scrambled eggs are a personal thing so when they reach your desired doneness remove from heat and pile them onto a plate. Top with diced green onions and enjoy your morning (or afternoon, or evening, I’m telling you breakfast food is always good!).
My BF has been really dedicated to his health lately, both in working out and eating healthy, and I have to say I am really enjoying the results. This has also given me the additional motivation to really focus in my health, in spite of my rising stress levels, so I can stay on the same level (or maybe even surprise him on my next visit at the end of the month). There is nothing I love more than a little healthy competition (especially when there really are no losers) so expect the levels of healthiness to increase around here in the coming weeks.
Happy eating 🙂

So what do you think?

